Skip to main content

You are here:

 
  1. Home
  2. Contact us
  3. Complaints policy
  4. PPI complaints

PPI complaints

The deadline to make a PPI complaint passed on 29th August 2019

If you've already made a PPI complaint to us, you don't need to do anything else. We'll make sure your complaint is reviewed. We'll be in touch as soon as we have an update on your case. The PPI deadline prompted a high number of complaints. We're working through our cases, but our response may take longer than usual. There's no need to call us to check if we've received it.

Enquiries and complaints sent to us directly by you

  • We'll send you an acknowledgement letter to confirm we've received your enquiry or complaint.
  • Please wait to receive this letter before contacting us for an update.
  • If you made an enquiry before the deadline and we find a PPI policy, we'll automatically open a complaint on your behalf. You don't need to submit a separate complaint.

Enquiries and complaints sent to us by a Claims Management Company (CMC) you've authorised to act on your behalf

  • We'll contact your Claims Management Company to confirm we've received your enquiry or complaint.
  • If you want an update, please get in touch with your Claims Management Company directly.
  • If you made an enquiry before the deadline and we find a PPI policy, we'll automatically open a complaint on your behalf. You don't need to submit a separate complaint.

To find out more, please read our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). If you'd like to speak to us about something not covered by the FAQs, please call us directly on 0345 300 2627 (lines open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday).

How to make a PPI complaint after 29th August 2019

Even though the PPI deadline has passed, there are a small number of scenarios where we may still look at a PPI complaint submitted after the PPI deadline. These include:

Exceptional Circumstances

If the reason you did not complain before the deadline is due to exceptional circumstances. This means something really important happened. Such as, you were seriously ill for an extended period before the deadline. For PPI complaints with exceptional circumstances, please tell us why you are submitting your PPI complaint after the deadline in as much detail as possible. This includes any relevant dates. We'll consider the circumstances on a case by case basis and we may request additional information from you if required.

Declined Claim

If you made a claim on your PPI policy that was live after 29th August 2017 and the claim was rejected. For PPI complaints relating to a declined claim, please provide as much detail as possible. This includes the date of your declined claim and why you're unhappy with the PPI policy.

If you think your PPI complaint falls into one of the above scenarios, you can make a PPI complaint by

  • Writing to us at Birmingham Midshires, Pendeford Business Park, Wobaston Road, Wolverhampton, WV9 5HA.
  • Calling us on 0345 300 2627 (lines open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday).

Accessibility information

We're aware our customers may require different levels of assistance and are committed to making our products and services as accessible as possible. Our PPI complaints process has been designed to make it as easy as possible for everyone wishing to make a complaint.

Our websites are designed to be compatible with assistive technology, this includes screen readers, text-to-speech software and reading aids. You can also change the colour of our websites to help make the text clearer to read.

Can we help make things easier? Please tell us if you require additional support (e.g. someone helps manage your affairs), or you have a physical or mental health condition. Also, if you need us to communicate with you in a different format (e.g. large print), please let us know. You can contact us by phone on 0345 300 2627. Lines are open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday.

For more information on our commitment to assisting our customers please visit the Accessibility section of our website.

Other organisations offering information and help with PPI complaints

The following bodies have information relating to PPI complaints and/or advice on making a complaint:

Financial Ombudsman Service

The Financial Ombudsman Service is a free, independent service for settling disputes between financial businesses and their customers. They can deal with complaints about a wide range of financial issues, including PPI. If you're not happy with our final response, or haven't received a final response within 8 weeks, you can complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service within 6 months of receiving our final response.

Financial Conduct Authority

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) regulates the financial sector and protects consumers. They provide information about PPI and can help you understand it, but cannot give you advice about your individual circumstances or complaint.

The following bodies have information relating to PPI complaints and/or advice on making a complaint:

Prudential Regulation Authority
Citizens Advice
Which?
MoneySavingExpert.com
Financial Services Compensation Scheme
Money Advice Service

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What will happen to my complaint after the deadline?

If you submitted your complaint before the PPI deadline of 29th August 2019, it is not affected by this time limit. We'll review your complaint and respond as soon as we can.

2. I have made a complaint - what happens next?

We'll send you a letter to confirm we've received your enquiry/complaint. Please wait to receive our acknowledgement letter before contacting us for an update as we'll only be able to provide limited information at this time. We'll write to you with either an update and next steps, or our final decision as soon as we can.

3. You acknowledged my complaint but I haven't received a final decision. What will happen now?

We'll respond as soon as we can. The PPI deadline prompted a high number of complaints. We're working through our cases, but our response may take longer than usual. Once our investigations are complete, we'll send you a final response letter. If we're unable to respond within eight weeks, we'll write to you with an update.

4. I have received your final decision letter but I am still waiting for my refund. When will I receive my payment?

If you're still waiting for your payment and it's been more than 28 days since you received our decision letter, please call our helpline on 0345 300 2627. Lines are open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday.

If your case is complex it may take us longer and we'll keep you regularly updated.

In all cases, any interest due will be adjusted right up until the date of payment.

5. What will happen to unresolved complaints over eight weeks old?

Rest assured, we're committed to giving your complaint the attention it deserves. We'll review your case and respond as soon as we can. The PPI deadline prompted a high number of complaints. So, if you submitted your complaint close to the PPI deadline of 29th August 2019, our response may take longer than usual.

6. I received a letter saying my complaint has been closed as no PPI policy was found. Could my case be re-opened after the deadline if I provide further evidence?

Yes, if you made the complaint before the PPI deadline of 29th August 2019. You have six months from the date of our final response to provide any further evidence.

7. I received a letter asking for more information and saying my complaint was closed. Could my case be re-opened after the deadline if I provide further evidence?

Yes, if you made the complaint before the PPI deadline of 29th August 2019. You have six months from the date of our final response to provide any further evidence.

8. Can I still complain after the deadline?

The deadline to submit a PPI complaint passed on 29th August 2019. If you think there were exceptional circumstances or you're unhappy about a declined claim (dated after 29th August 2017), then you can make a PPI complaint by writing to us or calling us.

9. Can I still make a complaint that is not related to the sale of my PPI policy?

If you're unhappy about an issue that is not related to the sale of your PPI policy, you can still make a complaint. This could be a concern about the way we handled your PPI policy. Such as, a delay with a claim on your policy, an administration error or charging you an incorrect amount for PPI.

If you wish to make a complaint that is not related to the sale of your PPI policy, please call the number provided within your PPI policy booklet. A list of useful telephone numbers can be found on our Complaints page if you can't locate your own paperwork.

10. What happens if I'm unhappy with the response to my complaint, can I challenge this?

Yes, if you have new or different concerns, please contact us within six months of our response letter and we'll take another look at your complaint.

You can also refer your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), but you must do so within six months of our response letter.

11. I have a complaint that has been referred to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). What will happen now?

We'll work with the FOS and provide them with all of the relevant case notes to allow them to complete their investigation. We'll also liaise directly with the FOS to deal with complaints as quickly as we can.

In the meantime, we'll be unable to discuss the complaint with you, whilst FOS completes their investigation.

12. Can I complain about the delay?

I'm sorry for the delay. The PPI deadline prompted a very high number of complaints. We're working through our cases, but our responses are taking longer than usual. If you're unhappy with the delay and we received your complaint more than eight weeks ago, you can refer your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service.

The Ombudsman offers a free independent review service. You may wish to contact the Ombudsman first before deciding on what action to take or review the frequently asked questions on its website.

If we uphold your complaint and a payment to you is due, you'll not be disadvantaged by a delay as any interest due will be calculated to the date of payment.

13. Will I be compensated for any delays?

We take all complaints very seriously and are committed to handling them on a fair and consistent basis. In line with our complaint-handling policy we'll assess your PPI complaint and will provide compensation, including the backdating of interest and payments, where appropriate.

14. Is there tax payable on any refund I might receive?

From 1 October 2013, the tax laws changed and HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) requirements mean we must deduct income tax at the basic rate (currently 20%) from any interest paid. HMRC treat the additional payment which relates to 8% interest as taxable income.

If we deduct more tax than you have to pay you may be able to reclaim all or some of the tax deducted from HMRC.

R85 forms cannot be accepted with this type of interest. If you pay tax at rates higher than the basic rate any additional tax due on this should be discussed with your tax office. For more information on PPI advice please call the HMRC tax helpline on 0300 200 3300.

15. What happens if I need another copy of the PPI Questionnaire?

You can download extra copies of our PPI Questionnaire here.

For telephone line opening times, please read the information in our contact section. Calls may be monitored and recorded for security and training purposes.

Our tracker rate mortgages are linked to Bank of England Bank Rate (also known as Bank of England repo rate). Details of this rate can be found on the Bank of England website or in the Financial Times or other leading newspapers.

Security and privacy policy

© Birmingham Midshires

This site is intended for UK residents unless otherwise stated. Mortgage Loans will be made by Birmingham Midshires.
Birmingham Midshires is a division of Bank of Scotland plc. Registered in Scotland No. SC327000. Registered Office: The Mound, Edinburgh, EH1 1YZ.
To contact the FCA Consumer helpline, please ring 0800 111 6768 or visit moneyadviceservice.org.uk/.